The page you requested is still being published. It should be available soon.


Revisiting my button time tracker for tomorrow’s blog post. Each button in this pic represents 30 minutes. Over the summer I used this chart to budget and track my time. For every 30 minutes I spent on an activity, I put a button in the corresponding space. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ It was pretty enlightening! The tangible “manipulatives” helped my brain wrap itself around time. It sounds stupid but people with ADHD really struggle with it. My post about time blindness is a consistent reader favorite because it hits home for so many people. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ I used my buttons to plan and prioritize my work but also just to figure out how I spent my days. This exercise also taught me a lot about how I think about time. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ For example, I tend to let morning meetings derail my entire day. I overlook the distinction between “this will take an hour or two out of my work day” and “this will take all day.” But when I sat down and counted out buttons to calculate how much time I actually had at my desk I realized I could do so much. I had almost a full day! ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ I also learned that when I got deep into a hyperfocus rabbit hole (usually coding) I would lose track of time entirely. I’d have no idea when I started working on the task or how long I’d been at it. So I tried setting a timer to give me a nudge every 30 minutes. Then I had a chance to place my button on the chart, pause, and decide if I should really still be working on whatever I was doing. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ Of course you know sometimes I dismissed the timer without a second thought and kept right on going, but it’s all a process ;) ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ I’d love to hear your experiences with time. It’s definitely a struggle! If you want more, check out my time blindness post (adhdhomestead.net/time-blindness-feels) or look up Russell Barkley’s “ADHD is time blindness” talk on YouTube. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

russellbarkley #ADHDwomen #ADHD #AdultADHD #ADHDproblems #timemanagementskills #timemanagement